Google Ads Dictionary

TERMDEFINITION
 Active ViewA feature on the 'Google Display Network' that allows Google Ads to determine if your Display Network ad is actually viewable in a visitor's Web browser window. ACTIVE VIEW is also used for ads on 'YouTube' and inside 'mobile apps'. You can see your ACTIVE VIEW data in its specific column metric in the Google Ads dashboard.

 Ad CustomizersWith this feature you can upload to your Google Ads account a CSV file with information that gets automatically inserted into your text ad. For example, you could upload all of your products' prices (or any other text), and then configure the AD CUSTOMIZER settings to have the prices 'automatically inserted' into your ads when someone performs a relevant search.

 Ad DeliveryA setting under the campaign setup that defines how quickly Google Ads serves your ads and thus how quickly your daily budget gets spent, as compared to spreading out the ads so they appear throughout the day. There are 2 options under AD DELIVERY: 'Accelerated or Standard'. Standard Delivery is the default.

Ad Extensions: Affiliate LocationThe 'type of Ad Extension' that directs people to the closest retail store that sells the product they just searched for. AFFILIATE LOCATION EXTENSION was originally 'created for manufacturers' so that customers can find their products in national retail chains like 7-Eleven, Home Depot, Kohl's, Target, ...and dozens more.

Ad Extensions: AppThe 'type of Ad Extension' that includes a link to the app that you are advertising. APP EXTENSIONS can apply to an Android or Apple app. A click on the link takes Visitors to the app's page in the Google Play Store or Apple Store. In addition, the headline of the ad is also a link but it takes you to the app's website instead.

Ad Extensions: CallThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a phone number or a call button into your ad. So instead of clicking the link to go to the website, Visitors have the option of click-to-call. CALL EXTENSIONS can be displayed on mobile or tablet or desktop. You can use the business phone number or choose a 'Google Forwarding Number' to enhance call reporting. The goal of CALL EXTENSIONS is to increase your click-through-rate resulting in more phone calls to the business. Do not confuse this with Call-Only Ads.

Ad Extensions: CalloutThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a 'short line of extra text' underneath your main ad. CALLOUT EXTENSIONS should not repeat what is already in your ad but rather talk about additional features, benefits, unique selling points, etc. CALLOUT EXTENSIONS are eligible to appear on desktop, tablet, mobile.

Ad Extensions: LocationThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts your business address, map, and phone number underneath the main ad. The LOCATION EXTENSION information comes from your 'Google My Business' account which must be linked to your Google Ads account. LOCATION EXTENSIONS can appear on the Search Network, Display Network, and Google Maps.

Ad Extensions: PriceThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a 'carousel of cards' with products or services and their price. The PRICE EXTENSION cards are displayed underneath your main ad. There can be up to 8 of them. Each card is clickable and takes you to the corresponding landing page for the product or service.

Ad Extensions: PromotionThe 'type of Ad Extension' that displays a discount underneath your main ad. It also has 2 extra lines of text. A PROMOTION EXTENSION can be for a product or a service. The discount is a "percentage off" or a "fixed amount off" the regular price.

Ad Extensions: SitelinkThe 'type of Ad Extension' that displays 'additional website links' underneath your main ad. Up to 6 or 8 SITELINKS can be shown depending upon the Users device type. Each one must go to a different landing page. Some examples are About Page, Schedule, Events, Specific Product, etc.

Ad Extensions: Structured SnippetThe 'type of Ad Extension' that gives you the ability to 'highlight details' about your product or service. To implement a STRUCTURED SNIPPET EXTENSION you first select a 'Category Header'. Then you type in a short list of items that uniquely describes your product or service.

 Ad GroupA set of 'keywords, ads, and bids' that forms a significant part of your Google Ads account structure. Every campaign must contain one or more AD GROUPS, and every AD GROUP contains one or more keywords. The keywords in an AD GROUP must be related to the same topic. On the Google Display Network an AD GROUP holds your set of ads and their associated website placements.

 Ad PositionThe 'order in which your ad appears' on the Search Results Page in relation to other ads. AD POSITIONS 1-4 are located at top of page. The other AD POSITIONS are at the bottom.

 Ad Preview & DiagnosisA 'tool that lets you test and preview' Google search results to see how your ads are being displayed, but without receiving any "real" impressions. If your ads do not show when you type in a search query, then AD PREVIEW & DIAGNOSIS will tell you why. You can also change the search 'language, location, and device'.

 Ad RankA 'number (or rating)' that Google Ads uses to decide your ad position on the search results page. AD RANK also determines whether or not your ads will even get displayed. Google calculates AD RANK using '(Quality Score) X (Max CPC Bid) X (Expected Impact Of Ad Extensions)'. The advertiser with the highest value gets placed in the top ad position.

 Ad RelevanceA 'status metric' that Google Ads assigns to the keywords in your campaign. The AD RELEVANCE metric can be "below average" or "average" or "above average". AD RELEVANCE serves as the indicator that allows Google to measure how closely your keywords match the text that you put into your ads and in your landing page. Quality Score values AD RELEVANCE above other metrics.

 Ad RotationThe AD ROTATION setting determines which of your ads within an Ad Group should be shown the most. There are 2 options. "OPTIMIZE: Prefer Best Performing Ads" or "DO NOT OPTIMIZE: Rotate Ads Indefinitely". OPTIMIZE uses machine learning and "auction time signals" to automatically choose the ad that is most likely to win the auction. For DO NOT OPTIMIZE, all of the ads in your Ad Group will be shown an equal number of times without priority.

 Ad SchedulingA setting that lets you choose the 'time-of-day and day-of-week' for your ads to show. You can also use AD SCHEDULING to automatically change your bids during specific times of the day when you think they will be more successful. For example, maybe you only want to run ads during daytime business hours or increase your bids for the morning hours.

 Ad StatusA 'status description for every ad' that tells you if your ads are eligible to run or not. It describes whether Google approves an ad to run, and if it can, whether there are any policy restrictions on how, where, when it can run. STATUS is a column metric which you can see when viewing your campaigns or ad groups. The statuses are 'ELIGIBLE, APPROVED, SERVING, UNDER REVIEW, DISAPPROVED'.

 Ad StrengthGoogle Ads provides AD STRENGTH feedback using 2 components: the overall rating that indicates the effectiveness of your ad, and a specific action you can take to improve your ad's strength.

 Ad VariationsThe different 'combinations of text and images' you create as part of your ad. It is considered "best practice" to create multiple versions of an ad for a single product or service that are all focused on the same set of keywords. Having multiple AD VARIATIONS is a good way to test which photos, videos, text, and designs perform the best together to create compelling ads. Google will then automatically show the best performing ad.

 AdSenseA Google product that 'pays website owners and publishers' for showing Display Network ads from different advertisers on their own website. Not all websites are eligible to host ads and those that are must be approved by Google. When you run a 'Google Display Network' campaign your ads must appear on an ADSENSE Website.

 Affiliate Location ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that directs people to the closest retail store that sells the product they just searched for. AFFILIATE LOCATION EXTENSION was originally 'created for manufacturers' so that customers can find their products in national retail chains like 7-Eleven, Home Depot, Kohl's, Target, ...and dozens more.

 Aggressive TargetingA targeting option for ad campaigns on the 'Google Display Network' that uses conversion tracking to find additional customers around your 'Target Cost Per Acquistion (CPA)'. AGGRESSIVE TARGETING is designed to achieve as many conversions as possible and therefore will frequently exceed your Target CPA bid.

 AlgorithmA set of unambiguous instructions that receives a set of initial conditions which the ALGORITHM then uses to perform a specific sequence of actions to achieve an outcome.

 All ConversionsThe 'total number of conversions' that Google Ads drives for a campaign. ALL CONVERSIONS takes into account any 'conversion actions' that you have chosen NOT to count in your reporting. It also includes 'advanced conversion sources' such as phone calls, store visits, cross-device conversions.

 App ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that includes a link to the app that you are advertising. APP EXTENSIONS can apply to an Android or Apple app. A click on the link takes Visitors to the app's page in the Google Play Store or Apple Store. In addition, the headline of the ad is also a link but it takes you to the app's website instead.

 ApprovedA 'status given to ads' that the Google Ads algorithm has reviewed and allows your ads to run. To be APPROVED, all ads must comply with Google's advertising policies. You see an ad's status listed in the status colum.

 Approved (Limited)A 'status assigned to ads' that contain content related to topics that are not universally acceptable. These types of ads are LIMITED as to where they can appear. Some examples are gambling, bail bonds, certain healthcare campaigns such as erectile dysfunction or hair transplant.

 Associations View'A way to look at your Ad Extensions'. When you create an 'Ad Extension', you can ASSOCIATE it to any of your ad groups or campaigns or entire account. Therefore, a single Ad Extension can have multiple associations. In the AD EXTENSIONS ASSOCIATION VIEW, each row contains data that is specific to a single association of an extension. If a single 'Ad Extension' has been associated to more than one ad group or campaign, it will be listed multiple times in the table.

 Attribution: Data DrivenThe DATA-DRIVEN ATTRIBUTION method distributes credit for a User's conversion based on observed data. It uses your account's data to calculate the contribution of each keyword along the path to conversion. Each keyword will receive part of the credit depending on how much it contributed to driving the conversion. However, you will only have this ATTRIBUTION option if your account has 'sufficient data' to implement it.

 Attribution: First ClickThe FIRST CLICK ATTRIBUTION method gives all of the credit for a conversion to the 'first ad click' in the path to the conversion. The Conversion Window is the amount of time after somebody clicks on your ad that Google will record the click as a conversion. This can be set from 1-90 days.

 Attribution: Last ClickThe LAST CLICK ATTRIBUTION method gives all of the credit for a conversion to the 'final ad that a User clicked on'. And this is true even if the same User previously clicked on other ads. This doesn't matter, the LAST CLICK still receives 100% of the credit for the conversion.

 Attribution: LinearThe LINEAR ATTRIBUTION method evenly distributes and evenly gives credit to 'all of the clicks along the path to a conversion'. Stated differently: "LINEAR ATTRIBUTION means each keyword receives equal credit for the conversion".

 Attribution: Positioned BasedThe POSITION BASED ATTRIBUTION method gives 40% of the credit for a conversion to the 'last click'; 40% to the 'first click'; and then evenly divides the remaining 20% among all the other clicks in the path to a User's conversion.

 Attribution: Time DecayThe TIME DECAY ATTRIBUTION method gives the most credit to 'clicks that occurred closer in time to a User's conversion'. TIME DECAY then assigns cascading credit to the other clicks that assisted the conversion.

 AuctionThe process that happens every time someone performs a Google search. The AUCTION determines which ads will appear for that specific search and in which order those ads will show on the 'Search Results Page'. The AUCTION can also decide NOT to show any ads at all. Each time an ad is eligible to appear it must go through this ad auction process.

 AudiencesA 'defined list of Users' that allows you to target them based on their previous behavior. You can create AUDIENCE LISTS from people who... 1)Have visited your website (remarketing); 2)Have used your mobile app; 3)Have given you their email address; 4)Have watched one of your YouTube videos. These are just a few of many examples of AUDIENCES. You can also combine different lists together when you use them in your ad campaigns.

 Auto-TaggingA 'query parameter (custom code)' that is automatically appended to the final URL of your landing page. This AUTO-TAGGING is then used by 'Google Analytics' to pull data about the click and other attributes into your reports so you can track ad performance.

 Automated BiddingPuts your 'ad bidding on autopilot' because it allows Google Ads to adjust your bids up and down. The goal of AUTOMATED BIDDING is to get the most possible clicks within your budget. For more control you can also set a 'maximum cost-per-click'. There are currently 6 different AUTOMATED BIDDING strategies: Maximize Clicks, Target Impression Share, Target Cost Per Acquisition (CPA), Target Return On Ad Spend (ROAS), Maximize Conversions, Enhanced Cost Per Click.

 Automated ExtensionsGoogle Ads dynamically creates AUTOMATED AD EXTENSIONS in order to improve your ad's performance. You do not create these extensions yourself but you are allowed to disable them. There are currently 7 AUTOMATED EXTENSIONS: Call, Callout, Location, Message, Seller Rating, Sitelink, Structured Snippet.

 Automated RulesA feature that allows you to 'define conditions' that can automatically make changes to your campaigns, ads, ad groups, bids & budget. The purpose for AUTOMATED RULES is so you don't have to spend too much time manually monitoring your Google Ads account. AUTOMATED RULES can be further controlled by setting a minimum and maximum budget for your campaigns.

 Automatic PlacementsThe websites, videos, and apps on the 'Google Display Network' where your ads can appear. Google does the ad placements for you unless you manually specify the locations yourself. AUTOMATIC PLACEMENTS are matched to your keywords and other targeting methods that you set in your Display Network campaign.

 Average Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA)The average amount that you have been charged for a conversion from one of your ads. AVERAGE COST-PER-ACQUISITION is calculated by dividing the 'total cost of conversions' by the 'total number of coversions'.

 Average Cost-Per-Click (CPC)The 'average amount that Google charges' you when somebody clicks on your ad. AVERAGE COST-PER-CLICK is calculated by dividing the 'total cost' of your clicks by the 'total number' of clicks. For example, if you received 500 clicks for a total cost of $50 dollars, then your AVERAGE CPC is $10 dollars.

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 Below First Page BidThe 'alert' that Google Ads applies to your keywords when the bid you set is not high enough to get your ad on the first page of the 'Search Results Page'. The BELOW FIRST PAGE BID alert often occurs when it's a competitive or expensive keyword.

 Below The FoldIf any content or an ad on a website gets displayed 'only' after scrolling down the page, then that material is said to appear BELOW THE FOLD. This is also referred to as 'Below The Scroll'.

 BiddingGoogle Ads is based on a bid system where you select a maximum bid amount that you are willing to pay for a click on your ad. The higher your BID, the better chance you have of appearing towards the top of the 'search results page'. For MANUAL BIDDING there are 3 bid types: cost-per-click(CPC), cost-per-thousand-impressions (CPM), cost-per-engagement(CPE).

 Bid AdjustmentA 'specific percentage' decrease or increase (-100% to +900%) on your bid which alters the final bid amount. BID ADJUSTMENTS can be set for keywords, locations, devices, ad schedules, display targeting methods, remarketing lists for search ads, etc. BID ADJUSTMENTS help you control the frequency of your ads plus how much you spend on them.

 Bid StrategiesLets you choose how you want to set bids for your ads, which also determines how you pay for them. Currently there are 6 BID STRATEGIES. Maximize Clicks, Target Impression Share, Target Cost Per Acquisition (CPA), Target Return On Ad Spend (ROAS), Maximize Conversions, Enhanced Cost Per Click.

 Billing ThresholdThe 'amount of money or time' that will trigger Google to charge you for advertising costs that you have accrued. BILLING THRESHOLD applies to automatic payments.

 Bounce RateThe 'percentage of visitors to your website' who leave (bounce off) your website after visiting just one page. The visitor does not navigate to a second web page. BOUNCE RATE is an indication of whether or not your website delivered the information that the visitor was searching for.

 Broad MatchA 'keyword match type' that displays your ads for a keyword plus many other related terms that contain abbreviations, misspellings, synonyms, stemming, singular or plural, similar phrases, close variants. Keywords that use BROAD MATCH deliver the greatest ad impression coverage, but as a consequence they match to much less relevant search queries.

 Broad Match ModifierA 'keyword match type setting' that allows you to specify a word (or words) within a 'broad match keyword' that forces the specified word (or close variants) to be included in the search queries used to show your ads. To use a BROAD MATCH MODIFIER you must type the plus (+) symbol before each word. It also excludes the synonyms that Broad Match would normally use which means your ads are more relevant.

 BudgetA 'campaign setting' that lets you specify the amount you want your ad campaign to spend each day on average. But keep in mind that Google Ads can overspend your BUDGET on any given day by twice your daily amount. This overspend occurs when Google determines that your ad will get more clicks or conversions. However, by end-of-month you will never be charged more than your monthly budget (30.4 x daily budget).

 Bulk EditsA method to 'edit more than one item' in your account at the same time. BULK EDITS helps you save time by either updating multiple items in one campaign or across numerous campaigns. It's also called 'Bulk Operations' which includes 'Automated Rules' and 'Scripts'.

 Bumper AdsA '6-second video ad format' designed to increase awareness for your brand. A Viewer does not have the option to skip it. BUMPER ADS can play before, during, or after another video. They are eligible to appear on YouTube videos and in your Google Display Network ad campaigns.

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 Call ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a phone number or a call button into your ad. So instead of clicking the link to go to the website, Visitors have the option of click-to-call. CALL EXTENSIONS can be displayed on mobile or tablet or desktop. You can use the business phone number or choose a 'Google Forwarding Number' to enhance call reporting. The goal of CALL EXTENSIONS is to increase your click-through-rate resulting in more phone calls to the business. Do not confuse this with Call-Only Ads.

 Callout ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a 'short line of extra text' underneath your main ad. CALLOUT EXTENSIONS should not repeat what is already in your ad but rather talk about additional features, benefits, unique selling points, etc. CALLOUT EXTENSIONS are eligible to appear on desktop, tablet, mobile.

 Call Forwarding NumberA 'phone number provided by Google' that you use in your ads. It forwards to your business phone. The CALL FORWARDING NUMBER and the associated ads are tracked for data collection, conversions, and call reporting. It is recommended for 'call-only campaigns' and 'call extensions' to guarantee that you are only charged when an actual call is made.

 Call-Only AdsA type of Google ad that ONLY allows a Visitor to click a button or link to 'make a phone call' to the business. In a CALL-ONLY AD Visitors do not have the option to click a link that goes to your website. The phone number can be the business number or a 'Google Forwarding Number'. When a Visitor clicks on a CALL-ONLY AD, these phone calls can be tracked and reported just like other types of ad clicks.

 Call-To-Action (CTA)A 'word or phrase' that is used to promote an immediate response from your visitors and customers. The CALL-TO-ACTION can also be a piece of content that is used to compel someone to perform a specific action on your website or social media site. Some common examples of a CALL-TO-ACTION are buttons that say "Download The Guide" or "Buy Today For 10% Off".

 Call TrackingProvides the 'ability to track statistics' about the calls your business receives from your Google Ads campaigns. It is similar to Conversion Tracking for your ads. In order to use CALL TRACKING you must enable a 'Google Forwarding Number' and implement either a 'Call-Only Campaign' or 'Call Extension'.

 CampaignThe 'top-level structure' and the first step to setting up your Google Ads account. You can create as many ad campaigns as you need. There are 6 different CAMPAIGN types: Search, Display, Shopping, Video, App, Smart. Your campaigns share numerous attributes such as budget, targeting, conversion tracking. Each Google Ads CAMPAIGN contains 'Ad Groups' so you can build a more segmented and organized account structure.

 Campaign DraftYou can prepare numerous changes to a Search or Display Network campaign without affecting your working campaigns. When you create a CAMPAIGN DRAFT it begins as a replica of the original, which then allows you to make changes. When you finish the draft, you can apply your changes to the original campaign, or create an 'experiment' with it.

 Campaign ExperimentYou can test a 'Campaign Draft's' performance against the original campaign. A CAMPAIGN EXPERIMENT uses a portion of the original campaign's traffic and budget and runs alongside the original for a specific time period that you define. You create a CAMPAIGN EXPERIMENT by first creating a 'Draft', which you then convert into an EXPERIMENT.

 Campaign GroupA 'subset of campaigns' defined by you that share a 'Key Performance Indicator (KPI)' such as target CPC or CPA. Google Ads CAMPAIGN GROUPS track the performance of multiple campaigns that have similar goals. Inside a CAMPAIGN GROUP you can configue optional performance targets which serve as the goals for the group. This segmented campaign structure makes it easier to monitor your performance progress.

 Campaign StatusA 'status indicator' applied to the ads in your campaigns that indicates if your ads are running or not. There are 6 CAMPAIGN STATUSES: Eligible, Paused, Removed, Ended, Pending, Limited By Budget.

 Change HistoryA 'reporting tool' that lists the changes you (or somebody else) have made to a Google Ads account during the past two years. Every change is 'timestamped' and includes the name of the 'logged in User' who made the change. You can also filter the CHANGE HISTORY view to only see changes that occurred during a specific date range.

 Click Through Rate (CTR)The 'percent (or ratio) of people' that click on your ad after viewing it. The formula used to calculate CLICK THROUGH RATE is 'total number of clicks' divided by 'total number of ad impressions'. CLICK THROUGH RATE is a key performance indicator (KPI) that describes the effectiveness of your keywords and ads.

 Close VariantsThe feature that allows keywords to match to searches that are "similar but not identical" to the targeted keyword. CLOSE VARIANTS help advertisers connect to more people who are looking for a business because the Searcher does NOT have to know the exact words to type. All keyword 'Match Types' use Close Variants: _accents, abbreviations, stemmings, missspellings, singular-or-plural.

 ColumnsAnother word for the columns is COLUMN METRICS. That's because inside the 'Google Ads Dashboard', the COLUMNS contain the majority of the data regarding your account, campaigns, ad groups, ads, etc. You can completely customize the COLUMNS for any view: add, subtract, move, segment, filter, save.

 Combined AudiencesA targeting setting that allows you to reach the right audiences by combining various attributes such as demographics and interests in order to create personas that represent your target audience.

 Conservative TargetingA targeting option for campaigns on the 'Google Display Network' that uses conversion tracking to find additional customers at the target Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) that you have set for the campaign. CONSERVATIVE TARGETING should not exceed your current CPA. The opposite is 'Aggressive Targeting'.

 Consolidated BillingA billing option inside Google Ads in which you can receive a single consolidated bill for your ad expenses incurred across multiple Google Ads accounts. CONSOLIDATED BILLING is only possible if you are using a 'Google Ads Manager Account'.

 Contextual TargetingThe method that Google Ads uses to match your ads to relevant websites on the 'Google Display Network'. CONTEXTUAL TARGETING uses the topics, audiences, and interests that you chose in order to determine website placements.

 ConversionAny visitor or customer action that is considered desirable by a company or organization. You the advertiser defines the CONVERSION, and a conversion occurs in response to your advertising and marketing. Some examples are a 'download', 'purchase', 'phone call', 'video view', 'web page visit', 'subscribing'.

 Conversion ActionA specific customer action that you define. Some examples are a purchase, opt-in form, phone call, video view, etc. You then track these CONVERSION ACTIONS to evaluate how well (or poorly) your ads are performing.

 Conversion PageThe page on your website that someone lands on after performing a 'Conversion Action'. Some examples are a confirmation page or a thank you page. When you use 'Conversion Tracking', the CONVERSION PAGE that you choose is where you place the 'Conversion Tag' provided by Google Ads.

 Conversion RateA percentage that indicates the number of CONVERSIONS you receive per ad click. Stated differently, 'your percentage of ad clicks that result in a conversion'. So the formula is CONVERSIONS divided by CLICKS.

 Conversion TrackingA function of Google Ads that allows you to 'track and measure the number of User actions' such as a download, purchase, phone call, video view, web page visit, subscribing. You also have the option to import CONVERSION TRACKING data from Google Analytics (called GOALS).

 Conversion ValueThe amount (determined by you) that 'a conversion is worth'. You can define the CONVERSION VALUE when you create a conversion action; or from the transaction amount when you import goals (conversions) from Google Analytics.

 Conversion WindowThe 'number of days' after a User clicks on a link (or button) that they have to complete the 'conversion action' for it to be attributed (recorded) to that click. The default CONVERSION WINDOW is 30 days, but you can set it to more or less than that.

 Cookie'A small file' that is saved to your computer by the websites you visit. COOKIES then recognize you on subsequent visits, and they store your preferences and other information regarding previous search history. Advertising platforms like Google Ads use COOKIES to track conversions and build audiences for remarketing lists (plus many other uses).

 Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA)Also called 'Cost-Per-Conversion' or 'Cost-Per-Lead'. It is the 'average amount' you pay for a conversion from one of your ads. Cost-Per-Acquistion is calculated by dividing your 'total cost of conversions' by the 'total number of conversions'. Do not confuse this with 'Target CPA'. It's related, but Target CPA is an Automated Bid Strategy.

 Cost-Per-Click (CPC)The 'price you pay' each time a User clicks on your ad or click-to-call button. Google Ads uses an 'auction bidding system' to decide which ads to show, so you will only be charged the COST-PER-CLICK amount that is necessary to "win the bid auction".

 Cost-Per-Engagement (CPE)A 'bidding type' in which you are charged ONLY when a User engages with your ad. An example is an expandable 'Lightbox Ad' on the 'Google Display Network'. Users can hover, click, or tap to expand the ad into view.

 Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions (CPM)A bidding option where you pay for 1,000 ad impressions regardless of how many clicks the ads receive. You typically use CPM Bidding on the Google Display Network when you want to increase brand awareness rather than conversions.

 Cost-Per-View (CPV)A Google Ads bidding method in which you pay each time somebody watches one of your video ads. A VIEW is counted when a User watches 30 seconds of your video ad, or the entire video if it is less than 30 seconds, or clicks on a call-to-action overlay (whichever comes first). You can set a MAXIMUM COST-PER-VIEW when you create a video ad campaign.

 Cross-Device ConversionA conversion that occurs after someone clicks on your ad using one device, but then that same person later converts using a different device. CROSS-DEVICE CONVERSIONS shows the path that customers take to complete a conversion.

 Customer IDThe number that Google assigns to you when you create a Google Ads account or a Google Ads Manager account. You use the CUSTOMER ID when linking to other Google products such as 'Google Analytics' or 'Google My Business'. 'Google Ads Support' will also request the CUSTOMER ID when you call them.

 Customer MatchGoogle Ads allows you to upload the email addresses and phone numbers of your contacts. This is called the 'Customer Data File'. These emails are matched to Google accounts in order to build an audience list. You can then create ad campaigns that target this CUSTOMER MATCH audience.

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 Daily BudgetThe 'maximum amount of money you tell Google that you want to spend per day for an ad campaign. However, Google Ads can spend up to twice this amount on any given day if it determines you will achieve more clicks or conversions. But your final cost averages out by the end of the month because Google will never spend more than your DAILY BUDGET times 30.4.

 Data-Driven AttributionThe DATA-DRIVEN ATTRIBUTION method distributes credit for a User's conversion based on observed data. It uses your account's data to calculate the contribution of each keyword along the path to conversion. Each keyword will receive part of the credit depending on how much it contributed to driving the conversion. However, you will only have this ATTRIBUTION option if your account has 'sufficient data' to implement it.

 DaypartingAlso known as 'Ad Scheduling'. Dayparting is a method in Google Ads that allows you to select the time of day, and the day of week to show your ads. DAYPARTING is ideal for businesses that only want to serve ads while their store or office is open.

 DemographicsAllows you to target people based on _age, gender, income, parental status_. DEMOGRAPHICS can be actual or inferred by Google based on User's browsing behavior. NOTE: Google cannot determine demographics for all Users.

 Description LineWhen creating an ad these are the two lines of text under the headline. Each DESCRIPTION LINE can contain up to 90 characters of text.

 Display NetworkThe GOOGLE DISPLAY NETWORK is a collection of more than 2 million websites, mobile apps, and videos where Google can place your ads.

 Display PartnersDISPLAY PARTNER websites form part of the Google Display Network. These websites are not owned by Google, but they have partnered with Google to host ads for advertisers.

 Display URLThe webpage address that you show to Users who see your ads. It does NOT have to be the same as your 'final/destination URL' but the root domain must be identical. 35 characters are permitted. The DISPLAY URL is used for aesthetic purposes for your ads. The 'Final URL' is the page on your website that you send people to when they click your ad.

 DraftsYou can create a DRAFT version of your campaigns and add them to your account. You can then use these DRAFTS for 'Experiments'.

 Dynamic Search AdsAds that Google creates for you. You only have to write the ad's description. Google dynamically creates the headline, display URL, final URL. DYNAMIC SEARCH ADS are used for very large websites or for websites that have products that change frequently.

 Dynamic Keyword InsertionAllows you to automatically include the matched keyword into the text ad so that it appears relevant to what people are searching for. DYNAMIC KEYWORD INSERTION is useful for when you have a large set of similar keywords, such as products with only slightly different descriptions.

 Dynamic RemarketingRemarketing that automatically changes the products or services included in your ad based on what someone viewed on your website.

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 EligibleA 'Status' that Google assigns to ads before they are officially reviewed. ELIGIBLE ads can still appear on the 'Search Results Page' even before the review process.

 Enhanced Cost Per Click (eCPC)A 'hybrid bid strategy' that raises or lowers your manual cost-per-click bid for keywords that Google Ads predicts are more or less likely to get a sale or a conversion. ENHANCED COST PER CLICK combines 'manual bidding' and 'automated bidding'.

 Exact MatchA 'keyword match type' that allows your ad to show only when someone searches for your keyword or close variants of your keyword. Close variants of EXACT MATCH KEYWORDS help you connect with more people even though there are slight variations in the search they typed in. This reduces the need to create large keyword lists. You create EXACT MATCH KEYWORDS by placing brackets around the keyword phrase. Example: [carbon tennis racket].

 Expected Click Through Rate (eCTR)A measure of how likely your ad will get clicked when shown for a particular keyword. The EXPECTED CLICK THROUGH RATE calculation does NOT take into account your ad's position or extensions. EXPECTED CTR is one of the 3 major components that determine 'Quality Score'.

 ExperimentsA feature that allows you to 'test changes to campaigns' before you apply the changes to your Google Ads account. To create an EXPERIMENT you must first create a 'Draft'. You then make changes to your 'Draft' which you can convert into an EXPERIMENT. This lets you compare the performance difference between the original campaign and the 'experiment campaign'.

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 Family StatusA rating given to every ad that indicates the audience for whom the ads are suitable. The FAMILY STATUS affects what countries and what websites your ads can appear on. The 3 statuses are Family Safe; Non-Family Safe; Adult. Inside your Google Ads campaign under the 'Ads Tab' you will see a 'Status Column'. Ads that are Family Safe say APPROVED. Otherwise the column will say Approved (non-family) or Approved (adult).

 FilterA setting in Google Ads that lets you segregate and restrict the type of data you see in tables, charts, reports.

 Final URLThe 'real URL' (NOT DISPLAY URL) that takes Visitors to your designated web page after they click on your ad. It's also referred to as the 'Landing Page URL'. The FINAL URL will often be different than the 'Display URL', but the two must have the same domain.

 First Click AttributionThe FIRST CLICK ATTRIBUTION method gives all of the credit for a conversion to the 'first ad click' in the path to the conversion. The Conversion Window is the amount of time after somebody clicks on your ad that Google will record the click as a conversion. This can be set from 1-90 days.

 First Page Bid EstimateThe 'estimated bid' you should set in order for your ad to appear anywhere on page 1 of the search results. FIRST PAGE BID ESTIMATE is calculated based on each keyword's Quality Score and your competitor's bid. NOTE: Your ad can still show on page 1 even if it doesn't meet Google's estimate. To see the bid amount include the 'Est. First Page Bid' column in your keyword table. ANOTHER NOTE: This estimate is NOT a guarantee.

 Forwarding NumberA 'phone number provided by Google' that you use in your ads. It forwards to your business phone. The FORWARDING NUMBER and its associated ads are tracked for data collection, conversions, and call reporting. It is recommended for 'call-only campaigns' and 'call extensions' to guarantee that you are only charged when an actual call is made.

 Frequency CappingA feature on the 'Google Display Network' that lets you define the number of times your ads can appear to the same person. By default, Google will continue to show the same ad, even if the User has seen it before. The FREQUENCY CAP is based on your ads 'viewable impressions' and you can set it at the campaign, ad group, or ad level.

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 GeotargetingAlso called 'Location Targeting'. The setting inside Google Ads that allows you to specify WHERE you want your ads to appear: the country, state, city, postal code, etc. It even includes places like airports and universities. GEOTARGETING enables you to reach your specific audience across the entire world. You can also use it to NEGATE locations -- where do you NOT WANT your ads to appear.

 Global Site TagThe 'conversion tag' used by Google Analytics and Google Ads. You insert the GLOBAL SITE TAG code snippet into the section on every page of your website. The GLOBAL SITE TAG sets cookies on your domain and adds Visitors to your audience lists. The cookies store information about the ad clicks that bring Visitors to your website.

 Google Ads EditorA 'free software tool' from Google that allows you to make bulk changes to your account instead of using the Google Ads web browser interface. GOOGLE ADS EDITOR is most beneficial when managing extremely large accounts. It allows you to download an entire campaign - make changes - then upload the campaign.

 Google Click Identfier (GCLID)A 'text parameter' that is added to your landing page's URL (final URL) every time somebody clicks on your ad. Each click is assigned this 'unique identifier', called the GCLID. It is used to track your ad's performance and to track conversions. For example, the GCLID is how Google Analytics is able to track everything about your Google Ads campaigns.

 Google Display NetworkThe GOOGLE DISPLAY NETWORK is a collection of more than 2 million websites plus 1 million mobile apps where advertisers can place ads. The DISPLAY NETWORK allows you to show ads to people who are browsing and engaging with different types of content including video.

 Google Merchant Center'Google's ecommerce platform' for submitting your product inventory from your website for use in SHOPPING campaigns. You submit your products to GOOGLE MERCHANT CENTER as a data feed which is used to create your 'Google Shopping Ad Campaigns'.

 Google My BusinessA 'Google product' that helps business owners create and manage their local business listings. GOOGLE MY BUSINESS is what allows you to mark a business on 'Google Maps' and to create 'Location Extensions'.

 Google Search NetworkThe advertising network where you can show ads to people who are performing a search. It includes all of the Google Search Websites, Search Partner Websites, and Search Apps.

 Google Search PartnersThird-party websites that form part of the 'Google Search Network'. These websites provide search capabilities and their search results pages show ads provided by Google. SEARCH PARTNERS also include 'YouTube & Google Maps'. Advertising on SEARCH PARTNERS is optional, and it is NOT possible to choose to EXCLUSIVELY run your ads on these websites.

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 HeadlineThe first two headlines in a text ad are required. But there is also an optional third headline. Each HEADLINE can have a maximum of 30 characters. The headlines appear next to each other on the same line, but they will wrap to a second line on small screens. Each HEADLINE is separated by the vertical pipe ("|") symbol.

 Historical Quality ScoreA component of Quality Score for keywords. HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE is a comparison of a keyword's quality score over a period of time that you specify. There are 4 columns in your Google Ads table: Qual. Score (hist.), Landing Page Exper. (hist.), Ad Relevance (hist.), Exp. CTR (hist.)

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 Impressions (Impr.)Impressions is a count of your ads’ appearance WITH or WITHOUT a click. IMPRESSIONS tell you the number of times your ads were triggered by one of your keywords. Stated differently, IMPRESSIONS can be defined as the number of times people viewed your ads.

 Impression Share (IS)Tells you the visibility that your ads achieved. IMPRESSION SHARE is the percentage of time your ads were eligible to be shown compared to how many times they ACTUALLY were shown. The formula is ... (number of ad impressions you received divided by the estimated number of ad impressions you were ELIGIBLE to receive). Eligibility is based on your current ads’ targeting settings, bid amount, quality score, ad rank, etc.

 InteractionsThe primary actions people take with your ads. For example: clicks on a text ad or image ad, views of a video ad, calls for a call-only ad, etcetera. You are charged for an INTERACTION with your ad (although not for every interaction).

 InterestsAllow you to target people who have expressed a particular INTEREST as determined by their Web browsing behavior. You can then target this audience (based on their INTEREST) across the 'Google Display Network'. INTERESTS are used in Affinity Audiences, Custom Affinity Audiences, In-Market Audiences.

 In-App ConversionA 'conversion action' that occurs inside of a mobile app. Examples of IN-APP CONVERSIONS are ... completing an in-app purchase, a customer creating an account, clicking on a link, etc.

 Invalid ClicksClicks that Google determines are either automated or unintentional. Some examples are clicks from Web bots, automated software, double clicks, and clicks from the owner of a website where your display ad appears. You can add the INVALID CLICKS column metric to your Google Ads dashboard.

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 Key Performance Indicator (KPI)A performance measurement that stems from your primary metric or what is most important to your business success. For example, 'conversions' and 'cost-per-acquisition' can be common KPIs for a Google Ads accounts.

 KeywordA word or phrase that describes your product or service in order to trigger your ads. KEYWORDS are the main targeting method for 'Search' campaigns, and they determine when your ads will show. When your KEYWORD matches what people are searching for, Google shows your ad.

 Keyword Match TypesLets you control how closely your keywords are matched to Users' search queries in order to trigger the most relevant ads. There are 5 MATCH TYPES: broad match, +broad +match +modifier, "phrase match", [exact match], negative match.

 Keyword PlannerA Google Ads tool that is similar to a 'keyword finder tool'. The KEYWORD PLANNER helps you research keywords for your Search Network ad campaigns. It gives you keyword suggestions plus estimates for 'search volume, clicks, cost, & keyword competition'.

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 Labels'Short descriptions' that help you organize elements within your account into meaningful groups for faster and easier reporting. You can apply LABELS to keywords, campaigns, ad groups, ads.

 Landing PageThis is the 'destination/final URL' that is referenced in your ads. The LANDING PAGE is the web page where visitors end up after clicking your ad. It contains detailed information about a product or service that ideally will persuade visitors to take a specific action. It is important to note that LANDING PAGE EXPERIENCE is one of the components of 'Quality Score'.

 Last Click AttributionThe LAST CLICK ATTRIBUTION method gives all of the credit for a conversion to the 'final ad that a User clicked on'. And this is true even if the same User previously clicked on other ads. This doesn't matter, the LAST CLICK still receives 100% of the credit for the conversion.

 Linear AttributionThe LINEAR ATTRIBUTION method evenly distributes and evenly gives credit to 'all of the clicks along the path to a conversion'. Stated differently: "LINEAR ATTRIBUTION means each keyword receives equal credit for the conversion".

 Location ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts your business address, map, and phone number underneath the main ad. The LOCATION EXTENSION information comes from your 'Google My Business' account which must be linked to your Google Ads account. LOCATION EXTENSIONS can appear on the Search Network, Display Network, and Google Maps.

 Location TargetingAlso called 'Geotargeting'. The setting inside Google Ads that allows you to specify WHERE you want your ads to appear: the country, state, city, postal code, etc. It even includes places like airports and universities. LOCATION TARGETING enables you to reach your specific audience across the entire world. You can also use it to NEGATE locations -- where do you NOT WANT your ads to appear.

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 Match TypesLets you control how closely your keywords are matched to Users' search queries in order to trigger the most relevant ads. There are 5 MATCH TYPES: broad match, +broad +match +modifier, "phrase match", [exact match], negative match.

 Merchant CenterGoogle's ecommerce platform for submitting your product inventory from your website for use in SHOPPING campaigns. You submit your products to GOOGLE MERCHANT CENTER as a data feed which is used to create your 'Google Shopping Ad Campaigns'.

 Message ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that allows people on a mobile device to 'send you a text message' directly from your Search ad. The click-to-message link is similar to a click-to-call button. MESSAGE EXTENSIONS let customers communicate directly with a business in order to schedule an appointment, get a quote, request service, etc.

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 Positioned Based AttributionThe POSITION BASED ATTRIBUTION method gives 40% of the credit for a conversion to the 'last click'; 40% to the 'first click'; and then evenly divides the remaining 20% among all the other clicks in the path to a User's conversion.

 Price ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that inserts a 'carousel of cards' with products or services and their price. The PRICE EXTENSION cards are displayed underneath your main ad. There can be up to 8 of them. Each card is clickable and takes you to the corresponding landing page for the product or service.

 Promotion ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that displays a discount underneath your main ad. It also has 2 extra lines of text. A PROMOTION EXTENSION can be for a product or a service. The discount is a "percentage off" or a "fixed amount off" the regular price.

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 Search NetworkThe advertising network where you can show ads to people who are performing a search. It includes all of the Google Search Websites, Search Partner Websites, and Search Apps.
 Search PartnersThird-party websites that form part of the 'Google Search Network'. These websites provide search capabilities and their search results pages show ads provided by Google. SEARCH PARTNERS also include 'YouTube & Google Maps'. Advertising on SEARCH PARTNERS is optional, and it is NOT possible to choose to EXCLUSIVELY run your ads on these websites.

 Sitelink ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that displays 'additional website links' underneath your main ad. Up to 6 or 8 SITELINKS can be shown depending upon the Users device type. Each one must go to a different landing page. Some examples are About Page, Schedule, Events, Specific Product, etc.

 Structured Snippet ExtensionsThe 'type of Ad Extension' that gives you the ability to 'highlight details' about your product or service. To implement a STRUCTURED SNIPPET EXTENSION you first select a 'Category Header'. Then you type in a short list of items that uniquely describes your product or service.

 Time Decay AttributionThe TIME DECAY ATTRIBUTION method gives the most credit to 'clicks that occurred closer in time to a User's conversion'. TIME DECAY then assigns cascading credit to the other clicks that assisted the conversion.